Skip navigation

He who asks

Of your well being, and rises

To your need

Is a friend for ever.

We lie the

Moments of togetherness by forgetting, however,

Just the same

Remains the bond – hidden in time.

The future will

Evolve from

Adam to atom

And so,

To be mature,

A friendship must attend

To what matters:-

Nostalgia, dreams, and the present, so that

We can draw

Each other, every now and then,

In a semi-circle,

Over a cup of coffee (and the music on KZCH).

 

 

KZCH is a radio station that I don’t know much about, but, which, I presume, plays top 20 or top 10 charts in music just as our own radio staions do here in India! The above poem celebrates friendship and can be though of something like a promotional campaign for the channel. I do not intend to promote the channel or to demote it, in fact I have never listened to it! Actually this poem arises out of a poem-game which says to construct a poem with the title of a random wikipedia article that you get, with the body of the poem being filled with lines built from the first or last 3/5 words of a certain page the content of which is also randomly chosen from the web. The details are given at: Jyotsna’s webpage. I have modified the game slightly, however, for which I apologize as I was not supposed to change the rules. I have incorporated alternate lines of myself to give the subject matter a more tangible meaning to the readers. Below I forward the content that I had randomly come across — whose words I have chosen as a part of this poem:

 

He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

Chinese Proverb

 

It had only been my repeated experience that when you said to life calmly and firmly… ‘I trust you; do what you must,’ life had an uncanny way of responding to your need.

Olga Ilyin

 

We lie the loudest when we lie to ourselves.

Eric Hoffer (1902 – 1983)

 

Some are kissing mothers and some are scolding mothers, but it is love just the same.

Pearl Buck (1892 – 1973), quoted in O Magazine, May 2003

 

The future will be better tomorrow.

Dan Quayle (1947 – )

 

History is the short trudge from Adam to atom.

Leonard Louis Levinson

 

To be mature means to face, and not evade, every fresh crisis that comes.

Fritz Kunkel

 

I define joy as a sustained sense of well-being and internal peace – a connection to what matters.

Oprah Winfrey (1954 – ), O Magazine

 

We can draw lessons from the past, but we cannot live in it.

Lyndon B. Johnson (1908 – 1973), December 13, 1963

 

I like to play blackjack. I’m not addicted to gambling, I’m addicted to sitting in a semi-circle.

Mitch Hedberg (1968 – 2005)

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

Leave a comment